\”What you see and hear depends a good deal on where you are standing; it also depends on what kind of a person you are\” (C.S. Lewis, 1898 – 1963)

My First Week as a 30-Year-Old

Ala… tak hebat sangat pun. πŸ™‚

Attended a meeting at PPD to discuss the District Choral Speaking competition on my birthday.

I am SO glad that our PPD is so good this year to allow us to have the competition. Of course, I am MORE glad that we didn’t waste the whole year practicing for nothing! πŸ™‚

At the end of the meeting, they had a suprise SUPER RICH chocolate cake ready for me, reminding me of the big Three-Oh.

And it was such a big reminder that when I cut the cake, I broke the knife.

*No need to eat spinach already. Turning 30 makes you stronger than Popeye*

But it was a good suprise, and I did have a good day that day.

LESS students created problems in the hostel that day (although I wished so hard for ZERO students, alas… it was not meant to be).

Students wished me, some very lengthy wishes, especially relating to long life so that I might have time to find a wife, and reminded me again and again to find a wife ASAP.

One student even had the gall to relate to me what he read in a magazine, saying that if I don’t get a wife soon, I may not have the stamina since I AM turning 30 already.

*stamina for what?* πŸ˜›

One particular student gave me a scrapbook, which was very touching, yet reminding me once again why I love this profession so much.

Some students made home-made cards, not much to look at on the outside, but the contents were what mattered.

I got a toaster oven from Wei Yen and Angeline! They announced it on my Facebook wall, and reminded me that it was BRAND NEW (long story).

And then I received a letter from the insurance company, telling me that since I have “moved into a NEW age group”, they had to increase my monthly premium.

*Ish, ish, ish… is that their way of saying “Happy Birthday! You’re old so we get to extort more money from you.”*

And then, I got a card from Hon Yau and Siqin (my dream couple), reminding me FRONT and BACK (in various languages) and UP and DOWN (in different colours), that I am already 30.

All this, of course, pales in comparison to what I thought was the best part of the day.

I realised once again, that a huge part of who I am today and why I am doing what I am doing now, is because of what my parents had instilled in me when I was much younger. Also another huge part is also because of the people I have crossed paths with, even if only for a brief moment in time.

Realising that, I am truly thankful that God has placed you all in my life, at some point or another. It makes turning 30 all the more worthwhile.

Although now, I have to face the possibility of carrying the distinction “UNCLE”…

*sigh*

πŸ˜›

***

Today, on the way to KK, my friend’s car tyre suddenly punctured. And it was getting late (about 6pm-ish, which means it would get dark soon).

So, there we were trying to jack up the car, but the jack didn’t seem to work ‘cos it kept coming down slowly after being jacked up.

Then we tried to stop cars to ask for help.

Want to talk about 1Malaysia? Come to Sabah, where people willingly help you change your flat tyre. No questions of any sort. No second thoughts.

I remember drawing a flat tire back in KL. Susahnya untuk cari bantuan, nasib baik ada AAM.

Hospitality – I have to give it to you Sabahans. Number one.

4 responses

  1. Ming Hui

    Hi Uncle Marcus, sounds all right so far. Enjoy making the toasts and …with marmite or marmalade?

    November 4, 2010 at 1:53 pm

  2. wen

    LOL to the stamina part..

    November 9, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  3. honyau

    =)

    November 9, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  4. Matthew Khoo

    You forgot me and mon`s gift! πŸ˜› the pants!! πŸ˜› hahahahaha.. =p

    November 25, 2010 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

